The Mortal Instruments

OK. So last night I was up until like 2am, and then up again at 4:30 because the pupster had to go to the potty. Why was I up until 2, you ask? Because I allowed myself to be entangled in the intricate web woven by Cassandra Clare! I just had to finish the 5th book in the Mortal Instruments series to know what happened! And now I want someone out there to build me a time machine to go forward in time to get the final book in the series. The stories of all the characters could go soooooo many ways – lovers, fighters, enemies, friends, frenemies.

I love how she starts out the series with a small group, but branches out to more characters you progress through the books. The new characters all have some tie to the original characters, and the central story still revolves around the main characters with the spin off stories happening at just the right moments, not allowing you to becoming completely absorbed in the happenings of Jace and Clary. Unexpected twists are around every corner, sending you on an emotional roller coaster, wanting to scream at the characters if not in warning, then in anger or surprise at their actions. I really, really, really wanna know what happens now. I will be very interested to see how Cassandra wraps it all up in the final book.

In the meantime, I’m going to have a gander at The Infernal Devices series also by Clare, which I have heard is a throwback to The Mortal Instruments. The characters in The Infernal Devices are supposed to be the ancestors of the characters in The Mortal Instruments.

One thought on “The Mortal Instruments

Leave a Reply

